It’s Rubber Ducking Jim, But Not As We Know It

I read The Pragmatic Programmer: Journeyman to Master when i first started working for my previous company and one of the techniques it describes is rubber ducking. Where you vocalise a problem to someone to help you to get a better understanding of a problem. Having to put the problem into words in a way that someone who has no knowledge of the problem context can help you to get a better “big picture” view of the problem and help you spot things that you may have missed. The book also suggests that if you haven’t got anyone close by to talk a problem over with you can use a toy rubber duck (hence the name) and vocalise the problem to the duck. Yes you look mental talking to a duck but it doesn’t matter because no one is around!

I have a duck. It sits on my desk under my monitor and it knows as much about my projects as I do. I told my mother about the technique and she very kindly (and creatively) came up with this…

I.T. Support Duck knitted by my mumDescription

I realised that I think of my blog as a kind of virtual rubber duck. I like to write out the problems i’m having (even if i don’t publish them) and i find that the act of writing it out in a way that would be understandable to other people reading it (potentially) helps me to form possible solutions.

About distinctinteractive

I graduated 3 years ago from the University of Huddersfield with a 2:1 BA in Interactive Multimedia. After leaving University i worked for a small company in Huddersfield (Offroad Code) mainly helping to maintain a large travel company website. I am currently freelancing as Distinct Interactive. Follow me on Twitter @jimmckerchar
This entry was posted in Programming, Random Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

