Setting Primary Monitor in Ubuntu

I’ve just (finally) made the switch and made our house Microsoft free. Both the laptop and desktop machines are both running Ubuntu 10 now. The desktop machine is pretty much unusable for anything other than watching films on so when I work I like to have the laptop set up with my 22″ wide-screen set up as the primary monitor and the laptop monitor as secondary. However Ubuntu doesn’t have a “make this monitor the primary monitor” button 😦

So I set up my dual monitors with the laptop set as primary and the 22″ set as secondary. This works but firstly I can’t set the laptop resolution to be wide-screen and secondly I can’t set the 22″ to be primary and so all my menu panels are on the (incorrectly sized) laptop monitor.

It turns out I can move the menu panels to my 22″ monitor so all I need to fix now is the missing screen resolutions for my laptop.

About distinctinteractive

I graduated 3 years ago from the University of Huddersfield with a 2:1 BA in Interactive Multimedia. After leaving University i worked for a small company in Huddersfield (Offroad Code) mainly helping to maintain a large travel company website. I am currently freelancing as Distinct Interactive. Follow me on Twitter @jimmckerchar
This entry was posted in Ubuntu. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

