Rails 3 On Heroku (Or How I Fell In Love With Rails Deployment Again)

I recently became unemployed so decided to take this “in-between” time to work on brushing up my skillset.

The company i worked for mainly developed with microsoft technologies but used Ruby for a few build server jobs. Rails however didn’t really feature much in my day-to-day work but I love Rails. It makes me a happy developer. My last experience was with Rails 2 so with the recent release of Rails 3 and a pretty stable Ruby 1.9 on Windows I thought I should get with the game and see what all the fuss was about.

So i set out to build a small website which isn’t big OR clever but is helping me to brush up on my existing rails knowledge and learn some of the cool new features that rails 3 has to offer. And it does have some cool features!!

I try to be Agile so one of the next things I did was to hook up some hosting so i can deploy early. I’ve had some experience setting up and deploying Rails apps so i knew this could be the killer. I wanted something that would allow me enough control to not be too restricted but at the same time be managed well enough that I don’t have to deal with too many maintenance headaches. I’ve used Capistrano in the past and it did make deployment easier, but not not so much on Windows (no surprise there then). I’d heard good things about Heroku so they were my first stop and I’m not disappointed!! Their free plan is good enough to start out on and they apparently scale well. As your site grows you buy what you need, more space, more power and more add-ons. Add in a beautiful Git based deploy process and it’s all over!

About distinctinteractive

I graduated 3 years ago from the University of Huddersfield with a 2:1 BA in Interactive Multimedia. After leaving University i worked for a small company in Huddersfield (Offroad Code) mainly helping to maintain a large travel company website. I am currently freelancing as Distinct Interactive. Follow me on Twitter @jimmckerchar
This entry was posted in Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

