Which IDE?

I’ve been using Aptana as my Ruby/Rails IDE for some time now and have generally been very happy with it until the latest release of Aptana Studio 3.

Studio 3 seems to no longer have full support for Rails as they have a RadRails 2 version sepcifically for Ruby/Rails development… However RadRails 2 doesn’t appear to integrate correctly with Rails 3 (i have to drop down to command line whenever i want to run generators/start server etc.) and doesn’t have support for HTML5 syntax.

HTML5 syntax is supported by Studio 3 but with limited Rails integration it’s no better than RadRails 2.

This has led me to try NetBeans again. I tried it not too long ago but being a bit of an Aptana fanboy i found it hard to get used to and reverted my development environment back to Aptana. I’ve heard lots of good things about it so i guess i’ll just have to put it to the test.

About distinctinteractive

I graduated 3 years ago from the University of Huddersfield with a 2:1 BA in Interactive Multimedia. After leaving University i worked for a small company in Huddersfield (Offroad Code) mainly helping to maintain a large travel company website. I am currently freelancing as Distinct Interactive. Follow me on Twitter @jimmckerchar
This entry was posted in Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

